an avian reminder of cold

a pretty scene
the upper corner of the window is aglow
sunshine is radiated off pointillised wattle blossom

it is the movement of a bird that has caught my eye
drawn attention to the scene as it flits between wattle-yellow
and the faded red of a persistent grevillea
there is a stark contrast between this illusion of bright warmth
and the hanging chill of my office where an impression of cold
seems ever present
in the dulled staccato movement
of my hands jerking across the keyboard
in my feet
through my knees
surrounding my buttocks
everywhere beneath my work-clothes

stupid bird
those curtains should not be left open


© Frank Prem, 2002

Leave a Reply

