a surplus (of sunshine)

it occurred to the day
it should be
perhaps
in surplus

decrease expenditure
of the sun

some few hours
reduced
to dim-light

the rest
for review
as time went on

~

I do not
grow
like this
I do not
thrive

barely exist
from bright hour
to bright hour

I have been
down
upon my knees
to plead
but
to diminished light
there is no change

the day
is deaf
to me

the light become so dark
it cannot see

day believes it is
enough
to believe
it is enough

but I wither
by the light
unseen

and die
a little
every hour

and
I fade

who could believe
a day
so
fiscally
restrained

so
hard

so turned away

~

once upon
a lost benevolence
I recall . . .

yes
I recall

the day was bright
with sunshine

~

4 thoughts on “a surplus (of sunshine)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.