my dollar doesn’t matter (to a god-fearing man in government)

what does it
matter

I mean
really

a dollar here
a dollar
there

it’s all just . . .

well
nothing much at all
when you dream
in billions

nothing much
at all
when it comes
from somewhere

out there

far away
where the people live

and
where we breathe
our shitty air
through shitty little masks
in the summertime

where our dole payment
is too small
to buy the vegetables with

where our salaries
haven’t grown
in too many years

and our pensions
are only
for older folk
and older and still older
again

what does it matter
when
it all comes back
to you

of course
water flows
downhill
to the most
deserving

we all know that

so a dollar
spent
is a dollar earned
and a government
gets re-elected

for god’s sake
the prime minister
is a christian

for god’s sake
don’t get in
his road
don’t trouble him
with crisis
there is no panic

don’t trouble him
with a possible
armageddon

for he believes
in miracles

the government
believes
in miracles

and stopping refugees
and denying water
that rises
to cover islands

and fires that burn
us all to hell

thank god
than god
that he is praying
for you
and for me

because he seems capable
of nothing else

~

spend
another dollar
to keep a family
in isolation

spend
another dollar
to support
a gun club
that you know

build another swimming pool
in the ocean

for god’s sake
to win election
I know
I know

whatever it takes . . .

whoever
it burns . . .

get out of the way
if you need
if
you are drowning

get out of the way
let them spend
another dollar

give some respect
for a government
that has
a plan

this
my government
has a plan

and a dollar
to spend

my dollar

~

26 thoughts on “my dollar doesn’t matter (to a god-fearing man in government)

    • I might have been encouraged one time too many to allow a little political commentary filter through. Gloves might be off. Not sure. I get so weary of what they do, let alone framing my own commentary and reactions to it all.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. We are currently in Florida and when I see the vast and I mean VAST sums of money being spent on the process of the primaries to select a Democrat contender for the Presidency I just despair. there are people here in this rich country that cannot afford medical care, child care , healthy food. Despair! Your words strike at the heart Frank with their truth. not only in Australia but the USA as well.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.