directly (before tea)

Inspired by the phrase ‘Before the taking of a toast and tea’ taken from ‘The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock’ by T. S. Eliot.
This now comprises a part of The Linkages Project

I will leave
directly
in the morning

early

before a cup tea

before I butter
a thick slice
of toast

no muesli
tomorrow

the black tar
beckons
to me

the road cries
my name

and I feel
an urgent melancholia
barely held at bay

I need to go
need to go
right now

I hear it in
the sway of the trees

each breath or breeze
that passes by

it is in the shimmer
of the molten sun

dancing like
a mesmerist

it is in the need
I feel
to stand up right now
and move

and move

make my way back
to home

and move
and move and keep on moving

find my way
to you

______________________________________________________________________________

Would you like to be notified about changes and developments in my writing world, new poetry collections and giveaways?

Subscribe to my monthly Newsletter here

7 thoughts on “directly (before tea)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.