lucky one

Inspired by the phrase ‘I long to kneel instantly at your feet‘, from the poem ‘Madonna of the Evening Flowers’ written by Amy Lowell.

This now comprises a part of The Linkages Project

I wake up
to a shining day

no smoke
no cloud
to play before
my eyes

I look across the sky
to the gold
and to the blue

I look
all around

earth green and brown

and then I see
a shape I know

busy in the garden

busy
with the singing

busy with
the life that comes
with breathing air
like this

radiating
all . . .

everything
that is good

I want to throw
myself
down onto my knees
right there
at your feet

these are those days
such
shining days

days
when I know
without a doubt
that
the lucky one
is me

______________________________________________________________________________

Would you like to be notified about changes and developments in my writing world, new poetry collections and giveaways?

Subscribe to my monthly Newsletter here.

10 thoughts on “lucky one

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.