above and below

the wind sings aloud an unquiet song
a eucalypt bows its branches

the rustle of the grass is eager to tell
secrets it shares in whispers

flutter leaves

twirl and turn you dancers

confound my eyes
with your green sequined sway

I could grow lost
among your kisses

oh wind you sing an unquiet song
crying above the eucalypts

a rustling of the grass reveals nothing at all
for all I hear is a whisper

but these green young leaves
are dancing

my eyes pursue
each gleam-sequined sway

I might fall
were I kissed so sweet


© Frank Prem, 2014

2 thoughts on “above and below

Leave a Reply

