the thought, write?

if I write
my thought
on paper

is it changed

does it become
not the same
when I
later
say it aloud

is it only possible
to read the words

and
if I tell you
what I’m thinking
what is the point
of writing

you have heard
and the air
has taken it away
and changed it

twisted
on the breeze
like a leaf
loosed
from the oak

I can’t write that

time
is only
now

I know it

so
is that thought I had
the one
that I wrote

or is a new experience
in store
each time
I glimpse that page

like a thought
that lasts forever
new
and new again

if I write it
then
when I read it

and the one that I said
out loud

I think
that one
is a matter
for the wind


© Frank Prem, 2017

August 2017 Poem #12: sentinel

9 thoughts on “the thought, write?

    • Yeah, it gets like that Steve. I get so I’m frightened to say a thing I’ve thought because then I won’t be able to write it. And, on the whole, I’d rather write it as a novel thing than say it as a commonplace to the wind.

      Phew. Sorry. Thanks.

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome, Frank. Nothing to be sorry about. I know what you mean. For me, I don’t often say what I would write, fantasy feels different, and I’m very much hand-to-mouth with the little I do write.

        I was going to say that we don’t have to be concerned because creativity doesn’t get used up, but I live in a glass house, because 60 seconds after I can’t think of a writing idea, I go into panic mode and convince myself I’ve dried up and will never have an idea again. This happens roughly once a week. 😜

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

