hands of me

hand palm

my hand is
me

look at my palm
open
to the lines
of a lifetime

my hand is me
creases run
up the flesh
of my fingers

hatch marks and softness
deep lines
that are
what I have been

my hand is me
smooth skin
stretched over my knuckles

a fist
that is hard
as a bone

only scars
and creases alongside
the place where a finger curls
into one edge
of a fist

my hand is me
when I open my fist
to the back
stiffened fingers

tendons and veins
and pucker lines

who else
but me

my hands

hand back


© Frank Prem, 2017

August 2017 Poem #10: bristle

6 thoughts on “hands of me

  1. Pingback: Texture: Grass | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

