breakfast dance

Poem #20 from: A Lizard Life

Back to A Lizard Life – Introduction


taking my lizard
for a walk on a lead
doffing our hats
to each person we see

into a café
where I hold the door
for my lizard who enters
with a crawl cross the floor

and I’ll have a ‘cino
the lizard
a snail
we’re out to be seen
oh
we’re both wearing Tails

dance between tables
the lizard and I
a tango
a quick step
raw egg and hot pie

then down at the table
breathless
and laughing
and foolish
and high

we waltz through the morning
the lizard and I


© Frank Prem 2017

A Lizard Life Poem #21: Lizzie Blue steps out (1)

2 thoughts on “breakfast dance

Leave a Reply

