outline of today

no hunt today
for exotica

no creatures
on the run

there’s only oak trees
waving
while they wait for Spring

socks on the line
jiggle in the breeze
underwear
oh my
oh my

around they go
on the rotary hoist
around they go
to dry

magpie
finds the highest branch

precarious
is not an issue

a little of acrobatics
is a tiny price
for swaying
nearest to the sky

nearest to the sun

look at me
look at me

the magpie

and then he’s gone
and the silence sits
in the shape that he was

when I look again
I can outline
the bird
in nothing

still there

but gone


© Frank Prem, 2017

July 2017 Poem #37: harmony (minor)

5 thoughts on “outline of today

Leave a Reply

