wall of roses

do you remember last year
overgrown and over-tangled?
I cut them back to wood
to give them strength and shape
watched for first signs to see
if I had been too harsh
and then they grew

I told you of the first buds
that promised well for summer
one fell away and died
but five have opened up
pale and pink and twice the size
of anything we saw last year
they moved me in a way
I hadn’t planned

I spend a moment every evening
watching as the light fades
I don’t know what I hope to see
don’t understand what draws me
but I want these baby roses
to burst open in new flowers
on the wall          a mass of waving colour
fragrant and enchanted
should you pass them


© Frank Prem, 2001

3 thoughts on “wall of roses

  1. Pingback: Fragrance, Fetor . . . Same Difference. – TyroCharm

Leave a Reply

