should I need a light

the sun does not shine
inside a dream

the light there
comes from
inner glow

it comes from
a presumption
of vision

of sight

how about that?

I see a dream
I am
in
the dream

I can see myself there

but
the sun does not shine

its rays
are too hard

its rays
too fierce

they would burn up
the imagery
they would spear through
the dream
into my wakefulness

I
keep a torch
at my bedside

I keep it filled
with soft light
in case

just in case
there is a time

a night

in case there is
a dream
filled entirely
with my darknesses

no inner glow

no sun

I keep a lamp
beside my bed
for when I
am sleeping

in the event
(just in case)
I dream


© Frank Prem, 2017

July 2017 Poem #31: faux song in the city

2 thoughts on “should I need a light

Leave a Reply

