Kinds Of Nothing

afternoon TV shows
even cartoons pass good time
textbooks on philosophy
don’t hold attention
disaster shows on the news
reporters can’t believe their eyes
I don’t know what to think
I’m just spectating

watching raindrops fall
to my window from the sky
forming and falling
and then there’s nothing
except another one coming down
in a pattern descending faster
than my understanding

so many kinds of nothing
I hardly notice the loss of hours
emptiness has time to fill
and I’m trying
a sheet of white paper
that disappears beneath a scribbled line
nothing worth saying and I’m the man
to do that job


© Frank Prem, 2000

4 thoughts on “Kinds Of Nothing

Leave a Reply

