the dark side of goodnight

Poem #16 from: Memoir of a Dog

Back to Memoir of a Dog – Introduction


in the darkness
there is only the one
green light
bathing the room
from the stereo

the house is silent
but
I couldn’t hear a thing anyway

I’m in another world

headphones have turned me
into an escapee
in a world of music
loud enough to blow my brain
into a non-thinking space
of songs sung
about release and freedom

I’m trying not to sing out loud
don’t want to wake the sleeping

the dog is lying
on the floor
head on my feet
he has no way to understand
but when I reach my hand
to stroke him
it’s another reason why
I can’t leave
despite what the singers
on my records tell me
until it’s maybe two o’clock
when I take myself to bed
a little drunk
sober enough
to pat the dog
and walk eight steps of corridor

avoid the creaking boards
and edge into
the dark side of the bed

goodnight

wineglass and headphones 33%


© Frank Prem 2009

Memoir of a Dog Poem 17: emergency placements

Leave a Reply

