While I would not wish …

I would not wish
to meddle
but
I need to bring a matter
to attention

I have been
working
and writing
and taking sultry nature photographs
all day

and now
it is eleven
in the evening

I had expected
god knows why
but I expected
my daily prompt to change
at ten
(the way it usually does)

and my routine search
of poetic archives
to begin
at five past the hour

why
is it so

why
am I still waiting

tomorrow comes
too soon
and I would like to post
my response
before I go to bed

ah well

ah well

perhaps

maybe

if the prompt remains
unchanged
at eleven
p.m.

maybe
I’ll just post this
instead


Frank Prem, 2017

Leave a Reply

