role to play

Poem #51 from Small Town Kid

Back to Small Town Kid – Introduction


sometimes in the night
the child is sleeping
sometimes
I watch over
my tiny wonder

hold my breath
lest a sound escape
think
what role
might I play

in the making
and in the shaping
of the future
dreaming there

and sometimes
it’s in the late of night
I toss and turn
and I ponder

what good role
for that sleeping child
what’s my role
to play

no answers
in the nighttime
maybe tomorrow

maybe sometime

maybe answers
one other day


© Frank Prem 2009

Small Town Kid Poem 52: vale

Leave a Reply

