trench man #2: almost (so far to go)

well
I took my tools
in the soft
morning light

I broke through
soil
and clay

I cleared the dirt
from my straight
true line

and bent my back
as though praying
to the gods
of digging

when I looked
how far
(not far enough)
when I looked how far
(so far still to go)

I looked at my hands
and they wept for me
but

the mattock knows now
the way I like to strike
the shovel fits snug
to my grasp

and we swing
and we clear
with the end in sight
and we know
we are almost

almost

we
are almost home


© Frank Prem, 2017

June 2017 Poem #08: closing time

3 thoughts on “trench man #2: almost (so far to go)

  1. the mystery of why the trench digging has me in suspense – but I’m content to sit with the intimacy of the words, the idea that hard labour, and especially tight-spot hard labour begs for a knowing of tools in deep relation to muscle, bone, skin, always makes me stop and pause, in appreciation, but I am biased – lovely poem Frank

    (it’s me – Pat – had to change again due to Google Chrome being in conspiracy with my PC and almost creating a mega wipe out of my hard-drive, which has led me to change browsing platforms, and not being able to use old names properly – so joke’s on me – and I thumb my nose at the stinking petunias.)

    Liked by 1 person

      • LOL@the no point? Seriously??? All that labour for no reason at all? I had noticed that the image showed the trench and it was hard to tell if there was something that had been laid into it, because I definitely noticed the filling in? Anyhow, there are less grueling ways to meditate, even in physical labour, but I suppose if it works for someone, then so be it 🙂

        Cyber petunias are the worst of the lot!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

