Brassy Slow Time (Will You Dance?)

Hey, what’s that sound I hear?
I’d like to know.
Somebody playing brass … keeping
way down low.
It’s dark and on the floor … couples
dancing slow,
while I …

I am slowly swaying and I …
can hear the music saying:

Go and get somebody,
anybody who can hold you on the floor and who can
move you in a slow song,
gentle rhythm of a slow song, if you’ll
just let go …

Hey, the brass is playing slow time,
would you like to dance?
They’re playing it that way so we
can make romance.
It’s dark and on the floor … lovers
in a trance,
while I …

I can see you swaying and you …
can hear the music saying:

Be a little bolder,
rest your head against my shoulder, while I hold you and I
move you to a slow song,
gentle rhythm of a slow song, if you’ll
take a chance …

In brassy slow time,
will you dance?


© Frank Prem, 2001

3 thoughts on “Brassy Slow Time (Will You Dance?)

Leave a Reply

