quickly: a taper

the world
goes quickly by
a switch
has replaced the taper

and the light of suns
in LED
reveals
almost everything

even neon
has come and gone
just a gas once more

while I
write candles
against the night

to flicker
as my mind
also flickers

and casts soft light
where harshness
lies still
hidden

candles
to flutter the dark
like a life lived
just outside the fragile flame

I am
a slow one
as the world goes
quickly by

the fast
I am too slow
to see

the urgent is
a nervousness
that plays
just beneath my skin

I turn away

to
a quiet light
a quiet life
a taper

match to wick
I set shadows free
to watch them dance


© Frank Prem, 2017

May 2017 Poem #30: selection

3 thoughts on “quickly: a taper

Leave a Reply

