of the unknown

I thought I heard
a creeping sound

I thought I heard
encroachment

it made me stop
to gaze about me
wondering

I caught a glimpse
just
a brief suggestion
there
of movement

and when I looked
oh my oh dear
the shadow

Mshadow

who was that
shading my doorstep
why has he come
to haunt me

did I do wrong
oh
what does he want
why
is the specter encroaching

forgive me please
I did not mean
to offend

no
no

but
what is this

no ghost at all
it is my young friend
the magpie

mshadow2

hurrah
oh bliss
I feel so relieved
for a time I thought …
well
you know

I thought my time was done
but it was just the magpie
and not the lord
of the dark unknown


© Frank Prem, 2017

May 2017 Poem #26: returned to the sun

8 thoughts on “of the unknown

Leave a Reply

