constructing me

I
am not really me
you know

it’s strange
but
I carry a picture

see there
that is who
I’m supposed to be

that is how
I should appear
to you

I’m not really me
the way you see me

no
that
is just your construct

and I have my own
me construct
that I rely upon
to get me through
each thought of mine
and every action

to keep me
assembled well enough
that I can share an image
with you

so you
can make your construct
approximate
to the really me
you know


© Frank Prem, 2017

May 2017 Poem #17: not moving

4 thoughts on “constructing me

Leave a Reply

