hold that

hold that thought
it could be the one
that wins
the lottery

it could make a difference
to the state
of the world

that thought
might be the one
that makes somebody else
think

something good

it could be a keeper

where
did it go

it was there
just a moment
past

I held it
nearly
in the palm of my hand

it’s gone

I may never have
another
no no no
not like that one

I have never known it’s like
before

only a thought

ever so fleeting

just a …

just nothing at all
yet
who knows what it might have been
what it might have meant

I miss it

I missed it


© Frank Prem, 2017

May 2017 Poem #13: substantive

10 thoughts on “hold that

Leave a Reply

