spe-lli-ng b-y nu-mbe-rs

Poem #18 from Small Town Kid

Back to Small Town Kid – Introduction


I learned to spell in small numbers
multiples of three
has five and one remainder
mul-tip-les-oft-hre-e

sometimes
I would mis-spell words deliberately
to keep the numbers neat
I do not like remainders-s

that was seven (four)

I gu-ess- it’s- ski-rti-ng o-n ob- ses-sio-n
bu-t I d-on’t- thi-nk t-hat- mat-ter-s to-o mu-ch

when I was small people used to think
that I was saying the words under my breath
moving my lips as children do when reading
but I was counting in threes
to the end of the word the line the page

spelling in small numbers

I so-met-ime-s do- it s-til-l


© Frank Prem 2009

Small Town Kid Poem 19: primary vocalisations

3 thoughts on “spe-lli-ng b-y nu-mbe-rs

Leave a Reply

