dogmatic slumbers

I insist
that I am sleeping
I don’t believe I am awake

this is the passage of a dream
I see go by
before me

there is no chance
that I’m mistaken
I am convinced I know
my self

if you are here
it is as a figment
of the mind

no no
don”t try to persuade me

no no I know
and you are wrong

no
asleep is what I am
till by-and-by

if you’re still here
when I awaken
then I’ll listen
to what you say
but now
I must insist
I don’t believe
I am awake

begone


© Frank Prem, 2017

May 2017 Poem #03: zones

Leave a Reply

