a line of brothers


oh poem of light
I see you dancing

radiant
catch colours as they fall

once around a ray
you twirl the rainbow

and it is only me
that knows you
with my eye

poem of darkness
I feel you
embrace me

a shroud
to cloak me
reflectionless

a pool of jet
I swim a small way
above your depths

only glancing once
my head plunged low
to glimpse your soul

my brothers
I am the pen
the quill
to catch your heart
upon my paper

in the scratching
of my pen
we each become alive

the lightest light
the dark
arm-in-arm
trope-on-trope
we
brothers
of the line

© Frank Prem, 2017

Leave a Reply

