teenage girl in the psych ward lock up

hey hon

what you doing
did you work today

they just gave me some fruit
cut up for a snack
and a can of cola

you know we can’t pay
all the rent by thursday
unless you can borrow some money
from your dad

do you think he’ll give it to us

oh well

what are you doing
what are you drinking

jim beam and coke!
well that sounds just fine

I wish I was there
I’ve got a thirst up just talking to you

they’re going to make me see a psychiatrist
a bit later
but they haven’t made me have any meds yet

just some valium when I start to shake
or get jumpy
it’s always the same
after a big drink

don’t forget to call your dad

I’ll talk to you tonight
but I need to have a cigarette now
and go back to bed

goodbye goodbye

don’t forget to call your dad

hey nurse
could I get a light for my ciggy
please


© Frank Prem, 2009

Leave a Reply

