carmen and cisco

Poem #27 from The Book of Evenings

Back to: The Book of Evenings – Introduction

* Listen to Frank reading carmen and cisco on SoundCloud*


she said

you and me
should dance latin

salsa is in
and I know I’d look good
in flowing skirts and ruffles
I can see you as a gaucho
sharp tight pants
and clicking boots

we could hold roses
between our teeth
while we’re stamping our feet
on the floor

she said

I want to dress
in black and red
your senorita carmen
watch the way I shape my arms
and sway my hips
hold my head up proud

come on cisco

she said

come on
do you think we could dance latin

will you take me out stamping tonight


© Frank Prem 2003

The Book of Evenings Poem #28: tonight

2 thoughts on “carmen and cisco

Leave a Reply

