be-bop night

I’m kept awake
by the sound of frogs
here I am
up late
when I should be sleeping

the gnats and the mites that fly
around the room
circle round my lampshade
crash into my window
from the outside
disconcerting my peace with their desire
for the warm that is my light

but when I embrace the dark
to guide me towards sleeping
I hear the frogs

be-bop

so earnest in their crying need

the water’s here
be bop
the reeds are near
be-bop
the Summer is so early

come to me my froggy queen
come to me my dear
be-bop
be-bop
this night is made for love

at least
that is how I hear them

I’m kept awake
the bugs are fried
but the frogs play
at merry gentlemen


© Frank Prem, 2014

11 thoughts on “be-bop night

  1. I love the line …. the frogs play at merry gentlemen! How wonderful and well versed this is. 🙂

    I’m looking forward to hearing the bass chorus booming through the night – although it will be some time to come here, but then, when it does, I know for certain the warmth is near. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Author Interview – Reily Garrett – The Carnal Series, Unholy Alliance, Tiago, Tender Echoes, Journey to Dawn: Step One, Breathe & Digital Velocity | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

