… for the dough to rise

and I
am in the heart of an act of faith
waiting patient
for the dough to rise

more accurately
an act of yeast

more accurately
I am hoping that my loaf
will be table bread

not pizza base

in good faith
I waited for bubbles
then combined with flour

I pounded
and I kneaded
put all doubts aside
while I rolled and pushed
one quarter-turn
at a time

and worried
because it looked too dry
worried
that I could not form it smoother
and worried

was the water warm enough

how would I know what the yeast wants
for it to rise

I am in the heart
of an act of faith
hoping the temperature in the backroom
is conducive
to high-flying yeast
while I sit
in a lather
impatiently waiting


© Frank Prem, 2010

6 thoughts on “… for the dough to rise

Leave a Reply

