what did you do today

you
what did you do today

well I
got abused
by my mother

and you
what did you do
today

I hospitalised
my father

she did it
for her own true sake
had to keep
some control

and I did it
for his very own good
he doesn’t like it
but
that’s the way

it’s just the way

you
what did you do today

I slammed the door shut
on the old house

and what did you do
today

I put the key
in my pocket
where it will stay

and if the door doesn’t
open up
again
that’s for the best

the key
well I think it right
to keep it safe
in my control

hey
what did you do today
was it anything
like me

did you wander
to the Nursing Home
or the Hospital

did you pull the shutters
closed
on old old lives
like I did

I bet you didn’t

I hope you didn’t

I wish
you never have to

like
today


© Frank Prem, 2017

Poem #34: a moment of memory

3 thoughts on “what did you do today

Leave a Reply

