a long wave

my poem today
is an empty space

where voice should be

.

.

.

.

there is silence

long waves
play the old hits
on a radio
push the weather
around the planet

but there is no wave
where my verse
should reside

just static charges
(by the proton)
for nothing

there is emptiness
where my poem should be

hello hello

is life alive
out there

hello hello

I hear the echoes
resounding
from better days

recitals read
one
after another

hello hello

hello hello

where is my poem
today
I can only hear
the sounds of the space
that it used to fill

blown away
by a long wave


© Frank Prem, 2017

Poem #31: yesterday?

7 thoughts on “a long wave

Leave a Reply

