praying m

Psychiatry 5: Hostel Life – Poem 72


Fra-ank
Fra-ank

she comes my way
the peroxide blonde bombshell
who is all red lipstick
ghost foundation
and a tottering
half-moccasin shuffle

last heard screaming

you’re a b_____d
you’re nothing but
a b____y-f____n-b_____d

in the context of my failure
to adequately distribute her ration
of cheap menthol gaspers
every hour
on the hour

Fra-ank
can you help me Frank
I’ve got a praying mantis in my hair

well
that one’s a conversation stopper

and sure enough
there clings
a fourteen centimetre long
bronzed-copper beastie
looking well at home
in the outlandish
fine but brittle
coiffe

they like me
they do

they look at me
all the time
in the smoking shed

they stare

but they like me


© Frank Prem, 2016

Next – happy chronicity


This piece has been on the blog before, but I am placing it in its series context here.

3 thoughts on “praying m

  1. Oh my …. what a flow to this piece … and yeah, that line IS a conversation stopper. I can so totally see this woman …. the setting, the scene, the heat … talk about vivid. Omg – this is quite the portrait of a moment – copper toned instamatic image.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

