size and stature

I am small

my questions
encompass the sea

a grain of sand
who wonders
about the beach

the ocean

the ebb and rise
of her water

I am small

my eyes
aim high

I cannot see
what a star looks like
but I can see
the bright places
in the night sky

the twinkling
above me

I am small

my footsteps
are determined

I cannot walk
around this world
but I can make
this soil beneath my feet
into something

my own

my
familiar

I am small

nothing

has power
enough
to daunt me


© Frank Prem, 2017

Poem #24: at the social security office

2 thoughts on “size and stature

Leave a Reply

