mad till knock-off

Psychiatry 5: Hostel Life – Poem 63


they’re mad today

~

col-en is calling me fran-kay
over and over
because he likes the sound of it

fran-kay      ha-ha-ha

fran-kay      ha-ha-ha

~

get under the shower bob

use the soap bob

wash under your arms bob

wash between your legs bob

wash your behind bob

use shampoo on your hair bob

bob will be leaving us soon
he’s moving on
to independent living

~

alice has stolen some money from staff
and they’re talking about it around her
as if she isn’t there
and it looks like her paranoia is rising

one said

it’s obvious
she’s agitated because she’s feeling guilty

if we just keep on at her for a while
she’ll give it back
she won’t hold out for long
when she knows that we know

~

the little gnome
is having an out-of-town ultra-scan
on an ulcer

in the car he bops
like a teenage fiend

inhales the music
on saturday morning video shows
and now the radio has tuned him in

go-go little gnome
just you go

~

paul
paul

she still calls me paul

I didn’t take it
the other one took it

be nice to me paul

paul
can I have a cold coffee
and my cigarette

please paul

~

they’re all mad today

hurry up
knock-off-work o’clock


© Frank Prem, 2016

Next – Furball and Freddie


This poem has appeared on the blog previously. It is included here to place it in context.

2 thoughts on “mad till knock-off

  1. Hi,
    I know Leggy Peggy.
    I thought this was sad. It reminded me of the movie one flew over the cuckoo’s nest. Did you see it? Your site must support people with psychiatric disorders here; they are treated badly; I’m sure it is true.
    I met you on Danny Ray’s site. Congratulations on being his featured blogger. I was his featured blogger too! Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about. I blog over at MostlyBlogging.com
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Janice. Thank you. Yes, I know the Cuckoo’s Nest – book and movie.

      I’ll pop over to your place when I get a chance and look around again – it’s been awhile, but life gets hectic.

      Cheers,

      Frank

      Like

Leave a Reply

