news

Thanks to Prof Wu over at Nothing in the Rule Book for the nudge.


I get my daily news
from the National Voice
even though
the government has one foot
hard-pressed upon its throat

I still
most of the time
trust it

I take my daily news
from The Eon of Our Times
even though
the paper is grown so thin
the advertisements
remain so large
and very wide

I am still
from all my reading life
accustomed

I take my daily news
from the GoggleFace online
even though
my eyebrows have risen high
and the things it says
just take my breath

I can’t believe
yet so many
cite it
gospel true

I take my daily news
from the Sulphur Crested Cockatoo
even though
it screeches it’s opinions
so loud
so very garish

at least I know
its point of view
is just
bullshit


© Frank Prem, 2017

Poem #07: leap and flight

7 thoughts on “news

Leave a Reply

