necessary preparations

remembering the last time
he resolved
on this occasion
to be prepared

beside him
he laid out
a range of possible requirements

bow and quiver
filled with arrows

snorkel and mask

an evening suit
with bow tie

hiking boots

fishing line and a lunch-box
containing three cheese sandwiches

drinking glass
filled with water

chain mail vest

laying them down
within easy reach
he surveyed the assortment
nodded thoughtfully
to himself

yes

they may not meet every possibility
but he felt
a little better prepared
for what may come

finally
he placed a large hand-drawn sign
penned in a red
permanent marker pen

gone reading

opening the book
to the page
the line
where he had left off
the night before
he began
to read


© Frank Prem, 2016

19 thoughts on “necessary preparations

  1. Hi Frank,
    I’ve seen you around the blogosphere today as I’ve been networking. I know Leggy Peggy and the Showers of Blessing
    I teach medieval history, so the bow and arrow made me think of the Middle Ages.
    I met you at Danny Ray’s Meet and Greet. Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about. For example, I recently wrote how to get 842 people to your blog in less than a day.
    http://www.mostlyblogging.com/get-842-page-views-to-your-blog/
    I also have regular monthly Meet and Greets like Danny.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Janice.

      Thanks for popping over.

      I’ll take a peek at your site when I get a chance – sounds like you have a mountain of tips there.

      I’ll keep an eye open for your meet and greets and pop in when I can.

      Thanks again,

      Frank

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

