last one

today
is the last day
of November

it’s a hot one

I can’t wait can’t wait
to get myself to the pub
and buy a beer

to buy another

I don’t drink so often
that it ever gets old
but today
is the last day

I’ve been toiling today
since way before
the sun got warm

and I haven’t had a chance
to take my pen
into my hand
and I’m due another one
before that sun goes down
so here it is

here’s
the last one

this is the final thing
I’ve written down
for November

and that
my friends
is the last that I can do
for Spring


© Frank Prem, 2016

3 thoughts on “last one

Leave a Reply

