way poem #14: conversation with three foxes

crow

ha-aarr

ha-aarr

the sleek black crow landed lightly
and opened proceedings
with mild humour

a very light touch
for the corvidae kind

~

easy for you to laugh

the first fox spoke

I still believe
I’d be innocent
before a jury

one paltry chicken
yes
I managed to get home
where the den is always hollow

but the attempt at lamb
that they did me for
well
that was no more
than my true nature

who am I
if I
am not myself

~

and I

spoke up another

what of me

I ate nothing that night
I had just begun
stopped the once
to sniff the air
for danger

yes
chuckle if you wish
it costs you nil

and even for me
there is no charge now
my account
is square
beyond remainders
or residues

~

ha-aarr

ha-aarr

the corvid
still attentive

~

yarp
yarp

shrilled into the wind

yarp
yarp

she has no scope
for conversation

her mind is gone
the wind
sighs through it

yarp
yarp

to the quarters
her voice
is thrown

~

enough

barked the first

I have spoken
all I can of this

enough
I’ve other places
to go

other places I should see

and the kind crow concurred
with a peck
delicately gentle
to pluck the last
un-shining orb

a spread of silk and jet
strong wings
and a circled laugh

ha-aarr

three foxes were bid
goodbye

3-foxes-websize


© Frank Prem, 2016

Poem #5: way poem #15: I creator

3 thoughts on “way poem #14: conversation with three foxes

  1. Pingback: WPC: Delta | Lillie-Put

  2. Pingback: Delta Green Energy | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

