lagoon #11

today
I think I identified the fish

his name is fred

no
only joking

I think it’s a carp

I saw quite a lot of one specimen
out of the water
and I know carp love to do that

I did something to my knee
yesterday
and so my attempt to subtly approach
the water
turned into a kind of
stiff-legged stagger
down the bank

rather noisy
in the end

it resulted in a mighty
whoosh
of water
as the fish powered away
towards the middle
of the billabong

there is still green
around the edges of the water
from the last rain

perhaps it’s holding its own
against the drought
but today
the temperatures are high
again

it seems an unequal contest


© Frank Prem, 2006

Next Poem: wrongness and sun

Back to Drought/Lagoon – Introduction

Leave a Reply

