that hare o’ mine

my hare has very large ears
she leaps
I call her bounder

she goes to sleep
in a grassy hide
and listens to the world
around her

my hare has very large ears
she runs
the wind behind her

she zigs and she zags
all across the field
but won’t come when I call
confound her

my hare has very large ears
she twitches
and her nose is wrinkles

she can smell when I
am waiting nearby
but she is coy and I don’t
understand her

my hare
with the very large ears


© Frank Prem, 2016

Leave a Reply

