A Poem a Day in October 2016: #21

every book I hold
I feel I’ve read before

there’s nothing new in fantasy
since Frodo
came back home

murder crimes are all too
by the numbers
your suspenseful thriller?
a penny will fetch a dozen

good space opera
it seems
only happens
stars and worlds

when all I want
my small wish
is to hold a good book
in my hands

something where
I can get grabbed
and held
by the opening lines

a hero’s tale
or a mystery that’s a joy
to try to work out

but my local library’s full of tomes
when what I want
is to hug to my chest
an adventure
on every page

I guess it’s back
to Mordor for me
yet again

© Frank Prem, 2016

Poem #22: the wind at war

9 thoughts on “dissatisfiction

    • Hi Ali,

      Yes, sometimes I find no point in actually re-reading, but take comfort from the presence on the bookshelf.

      The poem comes from a frustration on my part that I can’t judge books by their covers in the library, I think. Many are going back with just one page read.

      Tetchy in my old age, I am.




  1. Oh! How could I resist? Have you read the Otherland Quartet? by Tad Williams? Or for something quite different, The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks? Or Feersum Engin by Banks again. Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K LeGuin? Perdito Street Station by China Mieville? Or even a newie like Wool by Hugh Howey? Or Lifeform 3 by Roz Morris?
    -cough- I’ll stop now.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Resistance not required, Meeks.

      I have most of Le Guin’s Sci Fi and fantasy. Think I read a bit of Tad Williams a while back and found him interesting but a bit weird. Something about a humunculi that didn’t agree with me.
      I solemnly undertake to reserve a couple of the others from the library and take a peek.

      For myself I can thoroughly recommend John Scalzi for Space opera – great stuff.

      Also – how did you end up with The Hunger Games? Modern classics for mine and absolute favorites – books and movies.




Leave a Reply

