ride the portent

A Poem a Day in October 2016: #21

here am I
flying on the portent of a storm

clouds roll by

they brush my hair
a tousle in affection
then they go

and thunder rumbles
threatening
behind me

a laggard
but I know
it will not stop chasing

lightning makes the horizon-line
shine bright
then strobe
in an instant
back to dark

flash
and crash
and roar
it’s a light and sound crescendo

with the rain
pell-mell helter-skelter
sideways
pelting
a fury as it falls
on me

I ride

I
am the portent
of a storm


© Frank Prem, 2016

Poem #22: dissatisfiction

Leave a Reply

