a coffee song

A Poem a Day in October 2016: #20

it’s time to play
the coffee song
grind it right up
put it on
stove radio

it has a quiet start
I’d hardly even know it was there
but the element is glowing
so something’s going on
down below

and in the distance
far away
like the growl of thunder
the sound of pressure
building in a confined space
lodges in the front of my brain

I start to bop
without my own volition
while I watch the milk
rise up to the boil

it’s less a sound
more a feeling
as the steam percolates
and the beans express themselves
through water

to rise again
as a different being
with a rumble and a roar
like the diesel of a coffee train
crashing around the kitchen

screams out to me

come and pour

right now
right now
right now

this is a coffee song

I sing it out loud
coffee morning

© Frank Prem, 2016

Poem #21: ride the portent

2 thoughts on “a coffee song

Leave a Reply

