axeman: reducing the rounds

A Poem a Day in October 2016: #18

two rounds of wood
one atop the other

the-splitter

one is the smiting block
the other is pieces of firewood
in potentia

woodpile

and I
am the splitter

holding that implement in my hand
hefting the weight
to obtain the balance
in the sweet spot
where it is me and I am
the splitter

working the perimeter
slicing the round
into pieces to be heaped at my feet
while I swing
while I smite
there’s nothing so sweet as the sound
of my edge biting deep
creating a fissure

to strike
and to strike
until the monster round
is reduced
reduced again

nothing left
to challenge my firebox
stack it away
under cover

stacked-wood
let it dry and wait
the other end
of summer


© Frank Prem, 2016

Poem #19: a good girl

Photo Credit – Me. For a change.

4 thoughts on “axeman: reducing the rounds

    • Hi Paula.

      Thank you. I don’t see myself as a photographer. That might change if I ever get around to upgrading my phone to an I-phone or similar, but mostly I’m content to just do the words as best I can.

      Being on the blog creates a bit of an imperative, though. Interesting to note that as I go along.

      Thanks for dropping by and I’m glad you enjoyed the piece.

      Meanwhile, there are rounds to be reduced in the back yard …

      Cheers,

      Frank

      Like

Leave a Reply

