amaze me

sweep me up into your arms
when I am paying no attention

pen a poem in my name
on the napkin in a restaurant

climb onto a table
sing a song that urges revolution

then dance me
on a pavement of promises
across the road
to make traffic stop
spin me around like an idea
you’ve just formed
make me feel that I’m right there
in a dream
with you

read me a chapter from the book
of your life that you are writing

show me the half-painted canvas
that holds an image of my face

hold me close against your skin
so I am one with your rhythm beating

then raise me
in the air on a whispered word
that I can fly
like a thought released
fluttered round like a desire
you’ve just encountered
make me feel that I’m right there
in the dream
with you


© Frank Prem, 2015

14 thoughts on “amaze me

  1. then dance me
    on a pavement of promises
    across the road
    to make traffic stop
    spin me around like an idea

    this whole stanza – especially the lines dancing on a pavement of promises …. wow! love the imagery – the metaphors – the whole thing!

    Great to be able to slip in and see/visit or revisit the “most popular” of your works Frank – the body of work you have here on this space, is amazing! May your pen and creativity and endeavours continue to flow 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Pat – again, thank you.

      Amaze me was a slightly new direction for me. I felt that I was becoming a little stodgy – seeing things in what I felt were predictable ways and predictable words, so I shook it up a little and tried entering a space where I had to chase the ideas to try to keep up with them.

      Fun.

      Glad you enjoyed and indeed, the writing goes on (well, I think).

      Cheers,

      Frank

      Liked by 1 person

      • As long as we challenge ourselves and learn to slip into new comfort zones, then who knows where the magic and mystery will lead???

        May your mind and pen always be creatively inspired Frank – and you’re most welcome, it’s always a pleasure to stop in and read 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

