tree poem

A Poem a Day in October 2016: #6

it might be just a wooded arrangement
set there in the yard
for the purpose of holding leaves
supporting birds
swaying a little
when the wind blows hard enough
to move it

it could be just an object
of size and girth
that obstructs my lawn mower
forcing me
to go around it

tomorrow it will be sitting
on the boundary
doing nothing
beyond biding time
while the seasons pass
as they surely will

but today I see
a magnificence
perfectly framed by a rectangle
perfectly formed by the back door

I see a straight spine
reaching for the sky
holding branches outstretched
like an offering of benediction
and birds
squeaking and dancing
across those boughs

grand master

high riser
oh what a glorious

today I’m in awe of what I have
right here before me

© Frank Prem, 2016

Poem #7: a Husqy roar

4 thoughts on “tree poem

Leave a Reply

