the beginning of life

A Poem a Day in September #22

go away
don’t talk to me
Idon’tthinkthat
I am really alive

don’t trouble me
till I wake

go away
grind coffee beans
putthemup
on top of the stove

I’ll open my eyes when I hear
the hissing
and the bubbling
start

if you want to be the hero
my hero
you better brew them hard

and make it strong
enough
to stir my bones

hello
come talk with me
thisdayisupandI
feel that I am at-em
truly I
am at-em again

coffee is the start of the world

coffee hiss me into life
on the stove

coffee
coffee
coffee is the way to my soul

now I
am
alive

I feel truly
I am alive


© Frank Prem, 2016

Poem #23: finding north

3 thoughts on “the beginning of life

Leave a Reply

