river call to morning

A Poem a Day in September #8

there is a river
running beneath my backyard
channelled into a pipe under the ground
to take the water from a natural spring
down to the Gorge
and then The Murray

it runs in a trickle
all through every day
it runs
in a torrent
when it rains

and at night
in my room
when the world outside
is quiet

I hear the waters
of that river
like a lullaby
to sweet my sleep

sleep sleep
calls the river
drift with me
as we ride

from a tiny stream
to the mighty Murray
and sleep
till tomorrow morning

sleep and sleep
till tomorrow’s morning

© Frank Prem, 2016

Poem #9: bowing before (my) royalty

Leave a Reply

