from the good earth

this is the good earth
I am holding

soil to moisten
into mud
that will cover the seed I’ve laid
in the ritual ways
of my fore-fathers

to my fingertips
I am the farmer
and the dirt on which I stand
is a promise that I will raise
and reap
to fill the bellies
at my table

I carry it
in crags and crevasses
that line and mark my hands
underneath my nails
and in the dust layered on my trousers
and my shirt

here is the true loam
from which a man
even so small as I
may fulfil his spirit
by partaking in the offerings
and blessings
of this good earth

© Frank Prem, 2010

2 thoughts on “from the good earth

Leave a Reply

