the hearth of home

Back to: Surviving the Devil: A Song of Fire
Poem #14 from the ‘Surviving the Devil’ collection (unpublished)


everything happened so fast

I heard a roar
that sounded like jet planes

it came up the valley before me
and it came up the valley

the rain was red
and the hail that hit my roof
was actually a barrage
of hot embers

I was showered by fire
fallen from the sky

I dropped the hose
pulled a jacket-flap up
over my face

then windows exploded
flames flew in
sparks danced and I thought
I might die here today
but I pushed my panic away

chimneys are strong
and chimneys are tall

chimneys seem to remain
when everything else is gone
so I crawled on my knees
through the black day and the sear

huddled in the hearth
where the fire usually lays
and wept for my breath
while the beast burned my home
right to the ground around me

© Frank Prem, 2010

To Poem #15: Callignee butterflies

Leave a Reply

